Home / Bishops and archdeacons

Bishops and archdeacons

Share this page

Share an article by email

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

The Diocese of London is presided over by the Bishop of London who is assisted by the Suffragan Bishop of Fulham and four Area Bishops who exercise responsibility on behalf of the Bishop of London in their Areas. The Bishop of Islington has responsibilities in London and nationally for helping churches establish new worshipping communities. The bishops are assisted in their Areas by Archdeacons.

View a map of the diocese with senior clergy


The Bishop of London, The Rt Rev and Rt Hon Dame Sarah Mullally DBE

The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Sarah Mullally

Bishop of London
BSc MSc Honorary Doctorates Dame Commander of the British Empire
The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dame Sarah Mullally DBE was installed as the 133rd Bishop of London at St Paul’s Cathedral on 12th May 2018. Bishop Sarah sits in the House of Lords as one of the Lords Spirituals.
View full profile

The Rt Revd Dr Joanne Grenfell

Bishop of Stepney
BA MA DPhil Post Graduate Diploma Pastoral Theology
Joanne Grenfell became the Bishop of Stepney in July 2019. Previously, Joanne was Archdeacon of Portsdown in the Diocese of Portsmouth.
View full profile
The Rt Revd Lusa Nsenga-Ngoy

The Rt Revd Lusa Nsenga-Ngoy

Bishop of Willesden
The Rt Revd Lusa Nsenga-Ngoy became the Bishop of Willesden in January 2022. Lusa was previously BAME Mission and Ministry Enabler in the Diocese of Leicester.
View full profile

The Rt Revd Dr Ric Thorpe

Bishop of Islington
Ric Thorpe has been Bishop of Islington since September 2015. Before being appointed to Islington, Bishop Ric was the Bishop of London’s Adviser for Church Planting and Rector of St Paul’s Shadwell.
View full profile
The Rt Revd Dr Emma Ineson

The Rt Revd Dr Emma Ineson

Bishop of Kensington
BA MPhil PhD
The Rt Revd The Rt Revd Dr Emma Ineson was announced as Bishop of Kensington in December 2022, and was officially welcomed to the Diocese of London in February 2023.
View full profile
Currently vacant

Currently vacant

Bishop of Edmonton
The Suffragan Bishop of Fulham The Rt Revd Jonathan Baker

The Rt Revd Jonathan Baker

Bishop of Fulham
BA MPhil
The Right Revd Jonathan Baker is responsible for the pastoral care of parishes operating under the London Plan. He studied at St John's College, Oxford and then trained at St Stephen's House, Oxford.
View full profile
Luke Miller

The Ven Luke Miller

Archdeacon of London
The Ven Luke Miller has been Archdeacon of London since January 2016. He came to London for a year as a pastoral assistant before training for the priesthood at St Stephen’s House Oxford.
View full profile
John Hawkins

The Ven John Hawkins

Archdeacon of Hampstead
The Ven John Hawkins served as parish priest at a number of churches in London and as Bishop’s Missioner at King’s Cross London since 2013 when he was also made a Prebendary of St Paul’s Cathedral.
View full profile
Adam Atkinson

The Ven Adam Atkinson

Archdeacon of Charing Cross
Adam Atkinson became Archdeacon of Charing Cross in March 2020. He had been Director of Mission Development in the Two Cities Area and worked with the Church Revitalisation Trust.
View full profile
Richard Frank

The Ven Richard Frank

Archdeacon of Middlesex
Richard grew up in London and then Birmingham, and studied engineering at university. He served as Youth & Children's Worker for a Birmingham parish church before training for ordination at Ridley Hall.
View full profile
Catherine Pickford

The Ven Catherine Pickford

Archdeacon of Northolt
Catherine Pickford became the Archdeacon of Northolt in September 2020. Previously, she served in the diocese of Newcastle for 20 years.
View full profile
The Ven Peter Farley-Moore

The Ven Peter Farley-Moore

Archdeacon of Hackney
Peter Farley-Moore became Archdeacon of Stepney in April 2022. He was previously Canon Missioner of Wakefield Cathedral in the Diocese of Leeds.
View full profile
to top