Home / Announcements / Prayers for the new bishop of Stepney
Share this page

Share an article by email

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
/ 17 December 2018

Prayers for the new bishop of Stepney

Following the retirement of Bishop Adrian Newman in late-October, the Bishop of London is conscious that as a diocese, we need to pray and reflect on the appointment of a new bishop of Stepney.

Therefore, a prayer has been written to help us guide our thoughts and meditations towards the new appointment.

Almighty God,

the giver of all good gifts,
guide with your heavenly wisdom those who are to choose a faithful servant as Bishop for the Stepney Area;
that we may receive one who will speak your word and serve your people according to your will.

Through Jesus Christ our Lord


Below is a list of names of those who are on the appointment Advisory Group, and we encourage that you pray for them also, that the discernment of the Holy Spirit guides them in their deliberations.

The Rt Revd & Rt Hon Dame Sarah Mullally, Bishop of London

The Rt Revd Pete Broadbent, Bishop of Willesden and representing the London College of Bishops

Mr James Normand, Chair of the House of Laity of the Diocesan Synod

The Revd Jody Stowell, Chair of the House of Clergy of the Diocesan Synod

The Revd Jess Swift, member of the clergy, Stepney Episcopal Area

The Revd Richard Springer, member of the clergy,  Stepney Episcopal Area

Ms Savannah John-Leighton, member of the laity, Stepney Episcopal Area

Deputy Mayor Cllr Anntoinette Bramble, member of the laity, Stepney Episcopal Area

Dr Rachel Jepson, external member of the Advisory Group

About Communications

The diocesan communications team provides support to the network of clergy, churches, parishes and other worshipping communities that comprises the Diocese of London, as well as to the staff teams of the London Diocesan Fund.

Read more from Communications

to top