Home / Directory / Synods and committees / The Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches

The Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches

Share this page

Share an article by email

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

The Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches (DAC) exists to advise parishes and others on church buildings and works to them, ranging from a major extension to the installation of a new light fitting, reordering the church interior or repairing the roof. This includes advice to the Chancellor on granting permissions through the faculty system.

The DAC can offer expert advice to parishes on clocks, bells, organs, historic buildings, art, architecture, archaeology, furniture and plate.

As well as being involved in the Faculty process, the DAC advises on proposals for the redundancy of churches and helps in the appointment of Quinquennial Inspectors.

DAC Committee members have experience relating to various aspects of church buildings. Committee members include clergy, architects and furniture experts. The Chair is Mrs Annie Hampson OBE.

DAC Members 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2025

MemberRole / Expertise
Mrs Annie Hampson OBEDAC Chair, Diocesan Synod member, planning legistation and church buildings
The Ven. Adam AtkinsonArchdeacon of Charing Cross, ex officio member
The Ven. Elizabeth AdekunleArchdeacon of Hackney, ex officio member
The Ven. John HawkinsArchdeacon of Hampstead, ex officio member
The Ven. Luke MillerArchdeacon of London, ex officio member
The Ven. Richard FrankArchdeacon of Middlesex, ex officio member
The Ven. Catherine PickfordArchdeacon of Northolt, ex officio member
Dr Roger BowdlerHistoric England nomination; expert knowledge of Monuments & Church buildings
Ms Julie Fleck OBEAccess Specialist
Ms Rosie FraserKnowledge of church communities and links with project structures
Mr Alan FrostConservation Architect, Bells specialist, Lighting specialist
Dr Philippa Glanville OBEFormerly National Adviser of Metalwork (V&A) and member of the Cathedral Fabric Commission: church plate
Mrs Kathryn HarrisKnowledge of the Church Community; Accredited Conservation Architect
The Rev’d Katherine HedderlyClergy representative, understanding of sustainability and business plans
Mr Patrick HegartyLandscape Specialist
Ms Sarah KhanConservation Architect
Dr Mark KirbyHistoric church furnishings specialist
Ms Laura MoffattExpert of contemporary fine art and commissioning works of art
Mr John NormanOrgan and acoustics specialist
Ms Becky PayneOpen churches and community engagement specialist
Mr Kenneth PowellExpert of architectural history
Mr Mark PriceLocal authority representative
Mr Michael Royalton-KischQualified and practicing surveyor
The Rev’d Jonathan RustSurveying and parish development specialist
Mr Matthew Saunders MBEJoint National Amenity Society Committee Representative: Historian
Mr Alex SherrattArchitect, understanding of regeneration projects and community
Mr Robert ThorneArchitectural history specialist; Planning
Mr Robert WhyteheadArchaeological specialist



The DAC Constitution  Download  
Additional Matters Order  Download  
to top